Basic body drawing for measurements – draft 2

20150427 WOMAN TOTAL DRAFT 2

The second draft on the basic bodies, liking this one better, even though some points are eligible for improvement.

For this assignment I have chosen to draw a woman standing totally straight, so the arms from the side view fall within the body silhouette and do not cover the hollow in the back. In real life the height of the head is repeated 7,5 times in the total body length. I have chosen 8 times too in order to make it easier to draw a body because I could follow the online examples.

Also, I have chosen not to draw a standard size 36 (6 in the USA) because already in the Netherlands 70% of the women have a size 42 (12) or larger. I prefer real images but I did not draw her boobs on the normal, lower position because I need them to be high so I can easily and clearly draw different measurements. In the end these drawings are a compromise between reality, ideals and educational purpose.

Food for thought: I find it VERY educational to show real bodies. Most people going into the fashion industry are attracted by the glamour and the arts of the branch. I believe that is why it takes people in design, styling, development and engineering more time than necessary to catch up with the reality of fitting to an actual body. Did I just say that? Yes, I did. I find that, like in real life, ideals seem to blind us and be counter productive when it comes to actually seeing things and dealing with them appropriately.

As mentioned, these drawings are to be used as drawings for educational material online and in classes. Please let me know what you think. I especially interested in hearing about the proportions, the posture and whether or not she should be wearing undergarments….

I prefer no garments for several reasons; one being that the exact places of the measurements are clearer and there is going on in the drawing. On the other hand…. nobody in fashion will ever measure somebody naked. So…. choices, choices….

If you have got time, please let me know what your thoughts are.

Thanks and best regards, Martine

Leave a Reply

